BOARD MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 25, 2022 – 5:00 PM ABSENTEE MEETING

The Rockingham County Board of Elections met Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at 5:00 pm at the Board of Elections Office, 240 Cherokee Camp Road, Reidsville.

Board Members Present: Ophelia Wright, Chair; Tom Schoolfield, Secretary; Nelson Cole, Member; Thurman Hampton, Member; and Sarah Totten, Member.

Staff Members Present: Paula Seamster, Director and Kathy Clark, Senior Deputy Director.

ITEM #1 – MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

The Board meeting was called to order at 5:00 pm by Chair Wright.

ITEM #2 – APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Member Cole moved, seconded by Member Hampton to approve the agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

ITEM #3 – ABSENTEES

The Director stated that tonight the Board had 88 CIV ballots and 1 Military Absentee Mail-In ballots to approve or disapprove for a total of 89 absentee mail-in ballots.

The Board reviewed the 88 CIV absentee ballots. Three of the absentee ballots envelope CIV numbers and ballots numbers did not match.

Member Hampton moved, seconded by Member Cole to approve 85 CIV absentee ballots. The motion carried unanimously.

Secretary Schoolfield moved, seconded by Member Hampton to put 3 absentee mail-in ballots into review status. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board reviewed the 1 MIL absentee ballot.

Member Hampton moved, seconded by Member Totten to approve the 1 MIL absentee ballot. The motion carried unanimously.

After the Board approved the 86 absentee ballots, the ballots were inserted into the DS200 voting machine. 2 of the absentee mail-in ballots were not accepted by the voting machine.

Member Hampton moved, seconded by Member Totten to spoil the 2 absentee mail-in ballots that had marks that were not specific to a candidate and to prepare 2 duplicate ballots. The motion carried unanimously.

The 2 ballots were inserted into the voting machine. There has been a total of 272 absentee mailin ballots approved.

BOARD MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 25, 2022 – 5:00 PM ABSENTEE MEETING

ITEM #4 – ADJOURNMENT

At 6:10 p.m. Member Totten, seconded by Member Cole to adjourn. The motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Paula P. Seamster, Director

Ophelia Wright, Chair